Skip to content

The Cuisine Artisan Awards celebrate small New Zealand producers, giving food lovers an opportunity to discover the best the country has to offer and the stories behind the people who craft them.


2017 marks the ninth annual awards and this year the judging line-up boasts some of New Zealand's top taste buds, including Cuisine Good Food Awards three-hatted chefs.

Judges pictured from left: Fiona Smith (head judge and Cuisine senior food writer); Michael Meredith from Merediths, Cuisine editor Kelli Brett, Simon Wright from The French Cafe, Cuisine senior food writer Ginny Grant, Cuisine deputy editor Alice Neville, Sid Sahrawat from Sidart.

Earlier this year artisan producers were invited to enter their products into the awards. The judging panel has since reviewed the entries, in what Cuisine editor Kelli Brett describes as "a magnificent tasting marathon" to decide up to 10 winners, including one supreme winner.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners, featured in the May issue of Cuisine. You can also find out who the 2016 winners were here.


The awards aim to uncover the best of this country's artisan-made products, produced by people who apply their skills to making individually crafted goods, often according to traditional practices.

The Cuisine Artisan Awards are open to all products excluding:

  • Olive oil
  • Beer or cider
  • Wine or spirits
  • Cheese
  • Coffee
  • Primary products with no added value (e.g. raw meat, produce)